Standing Committee

The Standing Committee’s principal ministry is to be a council of advice for the bishop. In the event there is no bishop, it becomes the ecclesiastical authority. Among its other ministries is to assure a candidate for holy orders has fully met all the canonical requirements, to give or withhold approval for transfer of real property by congregations, and to consent or not to the elections of bishops in all other diocese of the Episcopal Church. Some vestry and parish experience is desirable

Elect one clergy and one lay to serve for three years

Three-year term:

  • Barbara Bassuener-St. Mary the Virgin, Pocomoke City
  • Jack M. Mason-St. Paul’s, Vienna
  • Charlie Osberger-Wye Parish

One-year term:

  • Sam Hartman-St. Mary Anne’s, North East


  • Debra Dragone-St. Clement’s, Massey
  • Sean Fahey-St. Peter’s, Salisbury
  • Howard Snyder-Trinity Cathedral
  • Warner Sumpter-St. Andrew’s, Princess Anne

Bios: standingcommittee2013